Cam wrote:I'm assuming that's a free asset when one is available.
Yeah, that's my intent.
If you have one power set you're only getting 1 die from powers at no PP cost. If you generate an Asset from somewhere you can then add it in at no PP cost and be using 2 dice. This is effectively the way the rules works as written.
If you have two power sets you're getting 2 dice from your powers at no PP cost. If you then generate an Asset from somewhere you have to pick between adding it or your second power set power in for free. You could however use 3 dice by spending a PP. This is the change in the rules - Second Power Sets take the same "slot" that Assets occupy.
Further random musings...
Since a lot of two power set heroes tend to have d8's and d10's they're kind of equaling out to decent Assets and don't gain much advantage if you give them a lower rated Asset. However, it does give them more narrative room to operate, and from a system angle more options when it comes to spending PP's. Also handy when one of your power sets is shut down.
So it also models why characters like Wolverine, Cap, Spidey, Daredevil, and similar don't tend pick up random bits of scenery to smack people with until they've lost their bonus widgets... they're getting better dice from their 2 powers so that extra d6 or d8 doesn't help them much. But someone like Luke Cage only has 1 power so he's going to grab a pipe or small building to thump you with. Now if they come up with some brilliant plan Asset or some wiz bang piece of tech Asset or have a giant metal Russian throwing them Asset then they use THAT instead because it's better.