by Battlechimp » Thu May 10, 2012 1:57 pm
by Supplanter » Thu May 10, 2012 2:54 pm
by Battlechimp » Thu May 10, 2012 3:26 pm
Supplanter wrote:One question: your original list says "second power." Do you mean second power set?
by EldritchFire » Thu May 10, 2012 5:43 pm
Battlechimp wrote:So, there's the whole two powersets being way better then one powerset deal (which I may or may not entirely agree with) and/or how it leads to grubbing for dice to cram both in on any given action (which I may or may not entirely agree with). And this has led some folks to deciding to just allow 2 dice from any combination of powers, which I don't really like cause it sort of mucks with multipower and/or versatile.
So I was thinking... What if the second powerset die was treated as an asset. Not one you have to roll for, but treated as in the same category.
Thus you'd get for free:
1 Distinction (ignoring the suggested house rule atm)
1 Asset (or second Power)
1 Resource, or Push/Stunt die (if purchased)
It gives two powerset heroes a leg up, but 1 powerset heroes can catch-up by generating an asset and two powerset heroes have to then decide on using an asset or using a second power.
So basically Wolverine is still going to be better off having Colossus throw him in a fast ball special, especially if Colossus can generate a d10 or higher effect.
I also sort of feel like moving Resources either to it's own group OR moving it over to the Asset category. Mainly because using a resource and a stunt seems to cost double the PP which I find a bit odd. And secondly because it conceptually seems to occupy the same narrative space that an Asset would, it's just less effective but longer lasting.
Thoughts? Any unforeseen side effects I'm overlooking?
by Cam » Thu May 10, 2012 7:11 pm
by Battlechimp » Thu May 10, 2012 8:31 pm
Cam wrote:I'm assuming that's a free asset when one is available.
by Reinhardt75 » Thu May 10, 2012 10:28 pm
by Newtsy » Fri May 11, 2012 6:15 am
Battlechimp wrote:If you have two power sets you're getting 2 dice from your powers at no PP cost. If you then generate an Asset from somewhere you have to pick between adding it or your second power set power in for free.