Yes, you do. The order in which you must use your dice is as follows:
1. Two dice for total, unless there's only one die in your pool left (after 1s taken out), in which case just one (or none, if no dice left).
2. One die for effect, unless there are no dice left, in which case it's a d4.
With special cases like Area Attack, which add dice to your pool and allow you to keep extra dice, you must still first meet your two dice total minimum. Before you spend Plot Points to keep more dice in your total, however, you must determine if you have dice remaining for your effect. If so, set those aside first, as many as you added in to your dice pool for the Area Attack SFX plus the default one. If you don't have enough dice, you get d4s. Only then can you add more dice into your total with PP.
The above ruling ensures that you don't make Area Attacks with the intention solely of adding all of your dice into your total with PP and then grabbing a handful of d4s for free as effect dice. It's the only time that we really need to watch the order in which you assign dice and spend PP; other situations it's OK to add more dice in with PP before you choose an effect die, and it's totally OK to add more dice in, leaving you with no effect die other than a single d4 default.
Design | Development | Special Projects
Margaret Weis Productions, Ltd
Make Mine Marvel!