konate wrote:RAW, I believe the only way to step up a doom die is if a player rolls multiple opportunities (1's) in a single roll. From what I've seen on this forum and as examples of play or pbp games, it seems most people feel that the lowest doom die can be stepped up with a single opportunity rolled by a character, en lieu de taking another d6.
Which is correct?
"Most people." But I swear to you, it is in the OM in the Doom Pool section, just not explained as clearly as it could be. Let me try to restate the principles, which really are the actual rules and not one of Jim's cockamamie mods. When the Watcher buys a player's opportunity(ies):
- Each rolled 1 is worth a single step-up. This includes "stepping up" from nothing to a D6. (There's no such thing as a D4 Doom Die.) With a single 1, I can step up an existing doom die, OR I can add a D6 to the pool. (Stepped up from "the nothing that is not there, and the nothing that is.")
- You can mess with a die if it's the lowest size currently in the DP when you start messing. [If the DP contains 2D10-D8-2D6, I can mess with either or both D6s. If the DP contains 1D12-2D10-1D8, I can mess with the D8 only. (In either case, I can also add a brand new D6.)]
- If a die is eligible for messing, you can mess with it until you run out of 1s, if you want to. [Player rolled three 1s. Doom pool was 2D10-D8-2D6 when I bought the opportunity. I can mess with either or both D6s. If I want, I can step up one of the D6s three times - using up my three 1s - to a D12. The die doesn't lose eligibility during some notional moment when it becomes a D8. OR, I could use my three 1s to ADD a new D10 to the pool. There my three steps are Nada => D6 => D8 => D10.]
- Now the Plot Point cost - you pay one PP for every doom die you choose to mess with. Creating a new D6 counts as messing with a die. [a) If the player rolls three 1s and I add a single D10 to the pool, I've messed with one die - the new D10!I pay the player 1 PP. b) If the player rolls three 1s and I step up a single existing die from D6 to D12, I've messed with one die - that die right there. I pay the player 1 PP. c) If I create one new die and step up one existing die, I pay 2 PPs. d) If I create NO new dice and step up TWO existing dice, I pay 2 PPs. e) If I create 3 new dice, I pay 3 PPs. f) If I create NO new dice and step up three existing dice, I pay 3 PPs.
- Summed up: Pay Plot Points by the die. Buy die-steps by the 1 rolled.
Also, in the OM, it states that effect die can never be stepped up above a d12 (by SFX i assume), but then goes on to state that if this happens, the rules will state what happens, usually being the target gets stressed out.
Then, under extraordinary successes, it states you can step up an effect die above d12 to stress out an opponent.
Right. I think it says something like usually never
, and then it says, in cases of unusually ever
the game will tell you what to do.
So, I'm wondering; since it is possible with an extraordinary success to stress out an opponent in a single blow, with the mirky wording concerning other possible ways of stepping up a d12, is it possible for someone like the Hulk or Silver Surfer to step up Godlike Strength from a d12 to a d12+ with a special effect like Unleashed or by some method other than an extraordinary success?
Well, what would it mean though? Unleashed takes effect before you roll. I know of no way you can roll a "D12+." What a D12 character does with Unleashed is 1) add a second D12 to their pool, and 2) smirk.