We see it all the time with highly mobile heroes. Villain to the left of her. Villain to the right of her. Villain to the left of her fires his Firing Thing. And creams the Villain to the right of her as our heroine ducks nimbly out of the way.
This came up in our game last night, and the concern was, we were pretty sure there's a rule that if you're rolling a successful reaction and buy an effect die, you can only apply stress or a complication to your attacker
, not directly to a third party. Which seems entirely reasonable, but deprives one class of heroes of a signature move.
So how to handle it? Give the third party a free reaction roll? In the comics, the power of "No, You Idiot!" is that the Villain to the right is often caught flat-footed. But a free reaction roll seems like a reasonable compromise. Then, a reaction roll against whom? Presumably a "chain reaction" against the hero - hero lets her roll stand; the third party rolls to beat it. (Which opens up one further baroque possibility: the third party winning and buying an effect die against the hero
. . . )
Is there an Official View? Are there ideas?
(Meaning, except for ideas like, "This usually only works with mobs in the stories" - not true - or "This is really an action roll on the hero's turn and it's all in how you narrate it because This Is Not a Simulative Game" - boring.
In the session, the situation involved Magnitude, The Incredible Hulc ("NOT THAT HULK
"), Zzzaxxx, an octogenarian Electro, some power lines and (Business Master Resource) THE FINEST PORTABLE CAPACITOR MONEY CAN BUY D8
. You know, the usual. Electro's walker wasn't worth any dice that scene, I note for posterity.